Spring Forward

20150822_111131I know, daylight savings time is a real debate. Some people like it. Some people hate it. But, nonetheless, many of us are about to spring forward our clocks.

Why do we do this? We do this to try to spread the sunlight out to the more useful hours. It is said that the use of Daylight Savings Time saves over 10,000 barrels of oil a day. Say what you want, but it does save energy.

But, what does this have to do with anything you would care about? Well, this got me thinking about body confidence. I was thinking about how I come across situations in my life that take so much energy, especially in the battle of body positivity.

For example, I had headshots taken this weekend in the name of comedy. I found myself worrying about them. Would I look okay? Was it worth paying for a photographer when I’m not a model? The idea of being in front of a camera really shook my confidence.

When the time came, I had a choice. I could either waste energy on these feelings, or spring past them. I had to spring past my insecurities so I could truly enjoy the sunshine of the moment.

Okay, so it might be a metaphorical stretch. But, you get where I’m headed, right?

12705568_10207076201757668_390478687671836899_nIn the last 3 months I’ve had a lot of first times. First time on stage. First real gig. First head shots. All of these moments have come with significant body confidence troubles. My mind wants to put significant energy into how I look on stage. How my outward appearance might negatively affect how my material is received. But, I choose to spring forward, if even in that moment when I have to step on the stage or in front of the camera.

So, feel free to steal my poor metaphor (but good advice). Sometimes it feels like we can’t run from our insecurities. I think working through insecurities, especially those connected with body issues, can take a lifetime to unravel. There are so many societal messages that reinforce our negative self talk. But, instead of spending energy trying to ban them forever, maybe we can all start at trying to spring forward. We can tell our insecurities we will fall back on them after our tasks are completely.

Spring forward for your goals. Spring forward so you can experience new things. Spring forward so you can love yourself. You might be surprised what results you get when you spring past your insecurities, if even just for an hour.

Katy Ipock Headshot

5 thoughts on “Spring Forward

Leave a Reply

