#OORL

I really do adore the #OOTD (Outfit Of The Day) posts of the world, especially from the plus size fashionistas (or is it fatshionistas? I’m still learning.) It’s so great to see examples of beautiful outfits, and women who are happy and proud. It gives me hope. It gives me life. It also motivates me to start trying to do some #OOTD posts of my own.

20150824_123624There is a little part of me, maybe it’s the jealous part, that feels sad. Very rarely do I get all dressed up, let alone have someone take pictures of it. I don’t really have “outfits of the day,” more like #OORL “outfits of real life.”

I take pride in my appearance, in a real sloppy sort of way. I brush my hair and my teeth. There is usually deodorant, when I can remember. I remind myself that someone may come to the door (thought I rarely have visitors during the day), so I need to be dressed somewhat decently (read: wearing a bra.) There is never make up, and I’m lucky if I have time to brush my hair and put it in a lazy bun before I am on duty.

My home is lived in (read: messy.) We have a child with special needs. We have a mattress in our living room because our son is a “sensory seeking” kid. Our lives got a lot less complicated and scary when we put a trampoline in his room and a mattress on the floor.

I don’t always get unpacked from a trip right away.

Let’s be honest, not everyone can afford a wardrobe full of stunning, designer brand clothing anyway. I get most of my wardrobe from thrift stores, Wal*Mart (read: The Devil), and Ross.

The internet could use at least one example of someone with a life that is lived in (read: messy.) This one is for all the people out there who have #OORLs more than #OOTDs. It’s okay to have days when it’s yoga pants and sports bras, strech-band shorts and decade old tank tops. It doesn’t really matter what your wearing, as long as you are loving yourself.

Show the world your #OORL.

8 thoughts on “#OORL

  1. Um…well…I’m self-employed and work from home. I am not somewhat decently dressed and my OOTD is yesterday’s OOTD. I’m on a roll today with two big articles being published and/or shared by a lot of SM managers. I’ll have a fresh outfit tomorrow. I have to because I have to leave the house.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

