Grateful

11707594_10202979372645479_8564878562793191212_n

I spent another wonderful day in the wilderness. It was a magical day, and a fantastic find. 12 waterfalls in 7 miles! (You can read more about the actual hike at my Oregon Waterfall Tour blog.)

I seem to find wonderful life lessons in every waterfall I encounter. This trip was no different. I gained so many pieces of wisdom! I’m not sure I can really share them all in one post.

The one thing that kept coming up for me, again and again, was how much I have to grateful for. I truly am incredibly blessed with so much.

I am grateful for my husband. I am grateful that he is supportive of my wanderlust. He never has one bad thing to say when I am gone all day chasing waterfalls. I never hear a single huff when I am gone all night dancing. My husband is the most amazing, supportive, life partner you could ever want. I am truly blessed.

I am grateful for my friends. The ones who are willing to come along on these adventures, even when I have no idea where we are suppose to go. I am grateful for all of their support as I try to reach my life goal of chasing all the waterfalls in Oregon. I wouldn’t be able to do it without them.

I am grateful for my health and my strength. On the trail, I admitted that a year ago I would have scoffed at anyone who wanted me to go on a seven mile hike. It would have 20150628_120758sounded incredibly out of my reach. And, perhaps it was. It was good that I started smaller and worked my way up. It makes me incredibly grateful for my body.

Of course, there were a couple moments when I did some potentially foolish things, taking dangerous paths to the edges of cliffs, just for a clear picture of a waterfall. Incredibly worth it, but possible the most dangerous thing I have done in my life. It made me feel alive, and grateful to be alive.

Without all of this, I wouldn’t be living this amazing life. Thank you for letting me spread my wings. Thank you for letting me grow. Thank you for enjoying the journey with me.

 

Leave a Reply

