Life Is Not A Carnival Ride…. It’s A Joy Ride

The Shark Fitness story came across my Facebook Feed today. It was the first time I had heard about it, at least that I remember. It seems some “trainer” thought it was okay to publicly “fat shame” a fellow spectator at a baseball game because he thought she was making it uncomfortable for other people to enjoy the sport. “B” response is absolutely amazing, and I recommending it to anyone who may need to be reminded about why the Body Positive movement is so important. Educating people that someone’s outward appearance does not does give you any clue about their current health or their habits.

As I’ve been venting in my head all day, thinking the things I wish I could say out loud to the people who do hurtful things like this, a single sentence flooded through:

Life is not a carnival ride. I do not need to be a certain weight to ride it. 

What a revelation! It’s not a new revelation, this idea is something I’ve been living for over a year now. My brain finally put it into words that seem so inspiring.

I don’t have to be a certain weight to go waterfall hunting.

I do not have to be a certain weight to dance.

You don’t have to be a certain weight to watch your favorite baseball team.

Life is not a carnival ride.

It’s a joy ride.

Leave a Reply

