Lost Track… Again

I am really good at setting goals. I am not always good at keeping up on them.

I have a post for some pulled chicken I made, gosh, almost a month ago, that I haven’t written. I also have everything to make my next meal. I also got distracted, and sick, and blah blah blah.

I imagine there are so many people who feel the same way about their new years resolutions by February. I can’t be the only one who lost the fervor.

Part of my problem, is I picked too many goals that really tested my willpower. I believe willpower is a finite resource, I seem to run out of willpower by mid day.

So now, what do I do? This is my plan of attack.

1. Forgive – Seriously, I need to take a breath and let it go. I don’t think anyone, other than myself, really cares whether I keep these resolutions or not. They are for me. So what if I lost myself for a couple weeks. When you get a flat tire, you don’t throw all 4 away. You fix it and move on.

2. Reevaluate and Plan – I certainly do not like going through the same road blocks over and over. So I need to take some time to look at my resolutions again, and  more particularly look at my tools for accomplishing them. This will also help me get re-motivated, I think.

3. Pick it back up, one piece at a time – My apartment is a mess again. I’ve lost track of my workouts. I have lost my motivation for cooking. There’s no way I’m going to have enough willpower in my bank to tackle all three of these, and all the others, on the same day. Slow and steady will win the race.

How do you restart on a goal?

One thought on “Lost Track… Again

  1. I think your plan sounds outstanding!
    To me, success is built upon failing and picking yourself back-up. You have a mission, and making small changes towards the goal will get you there in the long run. I’m in the same boat you are and I’ve decided to simply prioritize and begin working on one thing at a time.!

    Like

Leave a Reply

