Resolution Meal #1: Garlic and Herb Stir-Fry

20150102_182540

 

One of my New Years Resolutions is to cook a meal from scratch once a week. Learning to cook was never really a priority growing up, I also just ate from vending machines as single girl, and I married a man who loves to cook. That being said, my husband works all day and it’s not fair (not that he has ever complained) that he also has to make dinner.

For me to make dinner, we have to buy those boxed dinners from the freezer aisle. Sure, it’s great on occasion, but 4-5 nights a week is a little much.

I also have to admit this isn’t my first attempt at a goal like this. My past “failures” were just stepping stones that helped me understand the roadblocks a head.

I know much of my hesitation can be helped with habit, so now my phone bothers me at 4pm every day telling me to start dinner.

My other big problem is my fear of cooking meat. I’m fine eating it, but I have this irrational fear that if I cook meat for my family I will kill them. Yea, I’m a little crazy.

—-

My first meal for this resolution is a tad bit of a cheat. I have made it before. I was actually introduced to the Garlic and Herb Squash Stir Fry by a friend on the medifast diet. She came over last year and helped me make it the first time.

You can find the recipe, here.

Despite what it looks like, this meal is very easy to do. I do tweak it a bit, depending on what butter we have in the house. I also use the frozen chicken, already in strips, in the freezer section. It’s a step in the right direction, and I’m sure eventually I’ll learn to cook my own chicken.

20150102_165941

I cut up two Zucchini and two yellow squashes into slices. This is less intimidating than it looked to me at first. And, despite my distaste for vegetables, I find this dish pretty tasty. So, don’t be too turned off by what you see.

20150102_171218

 

Then you add the chicken, water, seasonings and such. I am by far not a master in stir frying vegetables. I would not presume to give advice. I have a feeling I tend to cook them a little long, especially before I put the meat in, seeing as they cook for longer after that.

20150102_171419

Then you cover your pan with it’s lid and let it simmer. Or, you cover your stir fry pan with your pizza pan because you don’t have a cover. I’m learning improvisational skills are critical to home cooking.

And then, Voila!

20150102_182540

A Garic and Herb Chicken Stir Fry, easy enough for a beginner. My husband enjoys it. This was the fourth or fifth time making it, and he doesn’t squirm at the idea, so I must be doing something right. I admit, this picture doesn’t make it look that great.

2 thoughts on “Resolution Meal #1: Garlic and Herb Stir-Fry

Leave a Reply

