He Drew Circles! Let’s Just Focus On That, Shall We?

20140901_134141

We were at a frozen yogurt place today, another step in my goal of doing more “play date” type things. It went kinda well. My son did kick, very gently, a 2 year old girl in the face. Luckily that mom was very nice about it. And, for the record, the other child was not hurt in any way, no marks were left. You can’t really call it a kick, it was more of a love tap? I dunno how to describe it.

Moments like that, are why I am so nervous going to “play dates” and taking my son out. Truly, no parent wants their kid to kick others in the face. For some reason that’s how my son thinks you interact with someone. It wasn’t out of anger, or frustration, for some reason he felt like that little girl really needed the bottom of his shoe on her cheek.

The outing, despite that one issue that we had to address, actually came with a HUGE success story.

My son drew circles on a chalk board, unassisted. Therapists and teachers have been trying to get him to do that for well over a year. I didn’t even realize what was happening at first. It was amazing. Truly, it was really a HUGE deal. I wanted to jump up and down, hoot and holler and cry proud tears.

I should have, too. But, I didn’t think the other parents around us would understand.

Just because we have difficulties with going out doesn’t outweigh some of the real positives.

5 thoughts on “He Drew Circles! Let’s Just Focus On That, Shall We?

Leave a Reply

