Day 2 of Positivity Experiment

I should thank the acquaintance who suggested this to me. The past 48 hours has shown me how much practice I need in the art of being positive. It is amazing how your world will give you chances to practice a skill when you set out to master it.

I am doing better mentally, I think. I am starting to notice the more automatic negative thoughts and addressing them. When I clean, this is huge for me. For whatever reason cleaning makes me very angry, and feel very used. As a stay-at-home mom, I clean quite a bit. You can imagine how this works out for me in terms of negative thinking. I’ve been working on this, and learning to see cleaning our apartment in a different light. Keeping a clean home for my husband and son is a way to show them how much I care about them.

When it comes to my inter-personal conversations I have a long way to go. I never realized until today how much I enjoy talking about the negative things in my life, and the negative experiences I had. I crave the ability to vent out all of the negative things that were said to me or done around me. If I don’t verbalize them and let them out, these experiences see to fester in my mind and become balls of anger that I can’t shake.

I am blessed to have more practice this evening during another social event. It is my goal, as it is every day, to only say positive things and find ways to be a positive force in this regard. Of course, if I win at Bingo tonight that would be cool, too.

5 thoughts on “Day 2 of Positivity Experiment

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one. I have had a lot of opportunities to find the positive in the situation, especially lately. The glass half full mindset does help, and keeps things light throughout the day.

      Like

  1. I find it difficult to overcome all the negative-speak going on in my head. And I so hear you on the cleaning creating anger. I feel used and disrespected when I’m spending hours picking up after my perfectly-capable family members. It’s a new school year, so maybe it’s time for me to work on me and overcoming the negativity. Go you!

    Like

    • I have found real enjoyment and growth in these kinds of challenges. It’s always kind of fun to try to do something new, anyway. It is hard to overcome negative-speak. It’s something I’ve been working on for awhile anyway, especially now that I consider myself “body positive”

      Like

  2. Pingback: Come Wade In The Water With Me | The Ipockolypse

Leave a Reply

