Birthday Overview

20140810_181124

I turned 29 this weekend. It was an almost 24 hour affair.

At 12:01am on August 10th, 2014 I was two beers and two fireballs shots into the evening line dancing. As soon as the clock struck midnight I forgot what line dance I was doing and about crashed into everyone.

I smirked to myself and told my friends that memory loss had already begun.

Jokes aside, I loved that I rang in my 29th year dancing. I also loved that I did not pay for a single one of my drinks.

I got home at approximately 1:30am. I took a shower, and went to bed. My son had a nightmare at around 2:00am, so he slept in our bed the rest of the night.

You can imagine how much sleep I got from that point on.

My alarm went off at 6:00am. I got up, got dressed and headed out the door. Where would I be going at 6am on my birthday after drinking all night? Why, hiking of course!

Yea, looking back at it now I didn’t quite plan the time table out well.

10531375_10202708285203945_7996448333542548590_oI went to Proxy Falls. Since I was updating Facebook with each drink the night before (I shouldn’t have my phone while drinking), they were worried I wasn’t going to make it at all.

I’m still in my 20’s, I can still rally.

I will be a blog specific to this hike. It was absolutely amazing. Proxy falls is gorgeous. The hike was invigorating. The biggest thing, of course, was my amazing friends.

I got home at around 2pm. I had just enough time to take a shower and get dressed.

My parents, bless their beer lovin’ souls, threw me a BBQ at 4pm. They had a party the night before and had more than enough leftover beer. I was told to ask my friends to “help” them drink it. What can I say, that was a crowd pleaser.

I line danced in the barn. My mom clapped with pride. Weird, kinda, but cool.

My husband and I danced to our song, too. It was near the end of the evening, when half of the guests had gone. It was a sweet moment that I will cherish forever.

There were tons of kids, who enjoyed the pool and the water balloon toss.

It was the first birthday party I think ever were friends out numbered family. I’m not sure if it’s a sad thing because there was so little family, or a great thing because I have so many amazing friends. I’ll take the latter.

As soon as the guests left and we cleaned up the back yard, the sky release the most amazing smelling summer rain. It was perfect.

I know that 29 is the end of a decade. It’s supposed to be the end of my 20’s, and my last year being all wild and crazy. I really feel like in the last year I have grown so much and started myself down an amazing path.

The Ipockolypse is just beginning.

 

3 thoughts on “Birthday Overview

Leave a Reply

