Bully or Overprotective?

I almost bailed out of the BBQ we went to last night. There were a lot of people who hadn’t met my son before.

They had a little wading pool. We didn’t have swim diapers or anything, but we had an extra change of clothes. So, why not, right?

My son loved splashing around in their pool. After about 20 minutes, I noticed it had gotten pretty quiet. The two other kids in the pool were taking turns pouring water on my son’s head, and he just sat there. After every bucket he would be sputtering water out of his mouth. One of the kids wasn’t very tall, and every time she tried to pour the water on my son’s head she would hit my son with the bucket. Not very hard, but still.

I finally walked over and said, “I don’t think he is enjoying that anymore.” The kids stopped.

I couldn’t help but think the kids were taking advantage of my son not being able to really speak. My son can’t say, “please stop” or “I don’t want to play this game any more.” Even if he could use the words he has, they really didn’t give him a break between the buckets of water.

I don’t know why the other parents weren’t noticing, either. My husband thinks I’m being crazy, and that everything was fine. So, I dunno if I’m crazy or not.

In general, things went well. I’m getting a little more comfortable with taking my son to parties and such with us. He made little fuss, and really went unnoticed.

12 thoughts on “Bully or Overprotective?

Leave a Reply

