A Great Debate

My husband has an appointment with a VA hospital a few hours away. It’s is the same city as the zoo.

Our family is debating a family adventure. I’ve already told our son’s pre-school he will not be there. And, I have already cancelled the bus.

Yet, I still don’t know if we will go. The idea of spending *at least* an hour in a hospital waiting room with my 4 year old ASD son is less than appealing. Yet, I think he might enjoy seeing elephants.

Stay home and be in our comfort zone, and know everything will be ok.

or…..

Take the risk and see elephants?

I’m so torn…..

6 thoughts on “A Great Debate

  1. Speaking as the Auntie of a nephew affected by Autism, I say go see some Elephants! Even if part of the trip is a bust, he will still enjoy the Elephants and you get to watch him. Just my opinion, of course! I know a lot depends on how the day starts off! My nephew has hit puberty and has become unpredictable these days though. But my brother sometimes tells me that he wishes he wouldn’t have been so nervous about taking him out pre-puberty, more predictable behavior. I hope I have not over-stepped my bounds! I hope he loves them if you do end up going!

    Like

    • You are not over stepping, at all. I understand what you are saying. We did end up going. However, we were unable to see the Elephants. My husband and I suck at finding our way around big town, and the GPS lady was less than helpful. But, I’m still happy we went as family. We still had some kinda cool adventures 🙂

      Like

  2. Speaking as the Auntie of a nephew affected by Autism, I say go see some Elephants! Even if part of the trip is a bust, he will still enjoy the Elephants and you get to watch him. Just my opinion, of course! I know a lot depends on how the day starts off! My nephew has hit puberty and has become unpredictable these days though. But my brother sometimes tells me that he wishes he wouldn’t have been so nervous about taking him out pre-puberty with more predictable behavior. I hope I have not over-stepped my bounds! I hope he loves them if you do end up going!

    Like

  3. Is there a shopping mall nearby? Some of the malls have interior jungle gyms that young children love to play in. You can spend the waiting time there, then go and pick up your husband. I say elephants are go!

    Like

Leave a Reply

