No Longer Depriving Myself

I have spent a lot of my life being overweight. It made me feel completely nonathletic in school. I felt ugly through for formative young-adult years. When my son was born, and I added even more weight, I had just given up on being outside of my house most of the time.

My whole life I have convinced myself that other people don’t want to see a “fat” person exercising. I’ve seen way too many YouTube videos of people making fun of “bigger” people trying to make their lives better.

Because of the potential of other people to being jerks, I have deprived myself from experiencing so much of life. I am blessed to live in a beautiful area. I have always lived just minutes away from some pretty majestic views. Yet, I have never seen them. I didn’t want to be the “fat” girl on the trail. Or the slow one. Or the inexperienced one.

There has been a shift in my life lately. I think because I have found a tribe of women who are extremely supportive. Most of them are not marathon runners, and those who are in amazing shape really are patient with the rest of us.

I got out and saw a waterfall today. It was maybe a twenty minute drive. It has been right under my nose all along.

While standing underneath the water fall, I started to cry. In that moment I released so much personal hate. I released the anger I’ve held because of what I thought I couldn’t do. In that moment, I realized that I don’t have to deprive myself of amazing experiences because of a potential for a few short sited people.

I felt years of negativity wash away.

I cannot wait to see what’s next.

12697_669477846438593_6110106555309474913_nYou can read more about the trip to the falls, here.

 

9 thoughts on “No Longer Depriving Myself

  1. Pingback: Weigh In and Check In – 8/29 | The Ipockolypse

  2. Pingback: Chasing A Feeling | The Ipockolypse

  3. Pingback: The Lovely Blog Award | The Ipockolypse

  4. Pingback: The Oprah Outrage | The Ipockolypse

Leave a Reply

