My Weight Does Not Dictate My Hobbies

I have spent a lot of time hold up in this apartment because of my weight. I was afraid to go be active. I didn’t want to be judged as the fat girl on the hiking trail, or the big girl on the dance floor. I stuck to the things “fat people” are suppose to do. I stayed in. Played video games. Ate copious amount of Taco Bell.

Then one day I decided to go on a walk with some new friends. They said the trail was easy, and I was so desperate for social interaction I would have gone anywhere. And, ya know what? I made it.

At that moment, something clicked. I was never going to lose weight if I continued to avoid anything active. I was never going to become healthier if I continue to behave like an unhealthy person

My weight does not dictate my hobbies, my ability and my health do. I can do a 1 1/2 mile hike through the beautiful scenery. I can line dance. I can leave my apartment.

My size, my outward appearance or the number on my scale do not dictate what I am capable of doing. These temporary factors have nothing to do with my worth, my ability, or what I should pick for hobbies.

An amazing thing happens when you stop letting your weight, or fear of what other people will say about your weight, keep you from doing things you love. You become more active. You start doing things that are better for you, things that make you healthier.

Stop being stuck in a cycle of acting fat because you think you are fat. Stop letting what other people’s short-sighted opinions might be of you keep you from doing what you love.

4 thoughts on “My Weight Does Not Dictate My Hobbies

  1. I really love this. I’ve always been pretty fit, and then in the last two years have sort of let myself go. Recently, I haven’t wanted to do a lot of the things that I normally have enjoyed because I would look fat doing them, or because with the added weight I would feel too fat. Thank you for the inspiration! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Keep your chin up! I was stuck in that cycle, not wanting to go for a run because I didn’t want people to see me huffing and puffing up the damn hill. Turn it around; they’re witnessing what you’re doing to progress towards your goal!

    Like

Leave a Reply

