Ladies Night

20140730_165529

 

It was ladies night at the bowling alley again last night. As usual, I had an amazing time. We had 13 ladies come out, and I was surprised at how many of them had not joined us before.

We all agree that the town of Bend, Oregon is very polite. Everyone is friendly. But, it is very clicky. It is hard to make actual friends in this town. You’ll make acquaintances if you are into the right hobbies. It reminded me what I created my Facebook Group, and it makes me so happy to see so many people taking advantage of it and finding actual friendships.

I met some great women, who I’m sure will turn into friends. I also reconnect with some I haven’t seen in awhile. Everyone was nice. Everyone was classy. The karaoke was so much fun. I really don’t care that I can’t sing well, I enjoyed it just the same.

The root beer float cocktails were delicious, if not diet ruining. Oh well.

I also only brought up my son’s diagnosis once. I wish I could get to the point that I don’t mention it at all. I am getting better at it all the time.

I would post a picture of the entire group, but what happens at a COG event stays in the COG page ;). You will have to use your imagination about how much fun my ladies had.

I love that in the past 10 months, because of outing like this, I have found myself. It is because of some of the women in the group that I have found the desire to explore nature, and have learned that I love it. I have found a tribe that I can talk with until 3 in the morning.

It’s amazing!

On a different note, I start the challenge I made for myself. I know the first couple days will be easy, but for some reason I’m still dreading it. Maybe it’s because I have myself convinced I can’t do actual exercises? The constant failing in gym class still plagues my mind I think. Wish me luck.

12 thoughts on “Ladies Night

  1. Sometimes my lunges are still sloppy if my knees are feeling weak, or pushups feel particularly wobbly some days.

    I STILL can’t hold some stretches for as long as I’d like without toppling over & that’s five months of continuous work. But, I’ve gotten better, I’ve come a long way and I know some day I’ll master it. Then, maybe I will even try full blown yoga. πŸ™‚

    We are all a bit clumsy to start, I believe. You will see though, you will feel so much stronger at the end of your challenge!

    I should take a page from your bravery book and find a way to go make friends. I really admire that because it is SO difficult for me! I hope you ladies continue to have a great time!

    Like

    • That’s my hope. I found a challenge that I know I can do if I just do it everyday, and I have no doubt that after I will feel amazing.

      I can’t say that everyone situation will be as amazing as my ladies nights…. but I will say I have yet to hear that someone regretting giving these events a try.

      Like

  2. As one Autism mom to another, can I ask why you want to avoid mentioning your son’s diagnosis? I mention it and I’m wondering if I shouldn’t. I wonder if it’s a “look at me and what I deal with daily.” Please feel free to avoid the question if it’s too personal.

    Like

    • Not to personal. As Autism Moms, I think we can talk about anything!

      In this situation, it’s women I have never met before, and they haven’t met my son. I started realizing a few months ago that I have seen my son only as his diagnosis. It was the first thing I would say if someone said, “tell me about your son.” I would also say, “he is 4 year old and autistic.”

      I think try to avoid doing that now, because of my own desire to see my son in his entirety. He is 4, he enjoys his video games, he loves to run, he sleeps in late, and is starting to notice the cat.

      In the conversation when it came up, I was talking about how I had finished school to become a radio DJ, but am a stay at home mom because halfway through we received our son’s diagnosis and have started early intervention.

      I would never tell any mom to not mention it. I think we have a responsibility, whether we want to or not, be advocates and examples to our communities, second only to those on the spectrum themselves of course.

      So, this has gotten really long….. I guess I could have said long story short, I want people to think of my son first as a child and second as someone the spectrum. Does that make sense?

      Like

      • Makes complete sense! Thank you. It seems that any explanation of my son turns into “he has Autism” because it encompasses his life. I see what you’re saying though.

        Like

      • It does for my son, too. I want my son to be proud and own his differences someday, and I have no problem helping people understand what “the journey” is like for my son, and his family. It is absolutely part of my thoughts almost every moment of everyday. It colors everything I do as a parents, and almost half of what I do as a wife… not to mention when I prepare for things like play dates.

        I think I avoid it more as an exercise for me personally, than my feelings about how other people see it. I’m also still on the tail end of being “new” to it all… since we are like 1 1/2 years into our journey.

        Like

  3. I am the same way about working out. I just remember being hit with dodge balls, being picked last for teams, running slower than everyone and all the confidence I had after changing in front of twenty girls. You are amazing! Strong and beautiful. You can do anything!
    I’m also so grateful that you made cog. It has given me my first really good friends! That’s something that only good has come from. Even if people leave and have arguments with others. For. Part of the tome that they were members, they put themselves out there to make new friends. That’s hard. It’s hard just to ask to join groups sometimes and you’re always welcoming and friendly with everyone. You have a lot to be proud of. So many friends made and so many people with more confidence and courage to initiate friendships now. You did that! πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a comment